Reviews - Ivy Guest House

Warmest welcome - Rating 5/5

When we arrived we were met by the owners mum and she gave us the warmest welcome,the next day we met Darren at breakfast and again received a warm welcome. This guest house is beautifully decorated, it has everything you could possibly need supplied. The food is great and Darren and Heather cant do enough for you, they are incredibly warm and generous people. I would highly recommend this place, I know I\'ll go back.

Reviewer:Miss. Wendy Reed | Wed 2nd Aug 2017


Great Location - Rating 5/5

The Ivy is ideally situated for exploring the Lake district with Hawkshead shops, pubs and cafe\'s right on the doorstep. Darren was a fabulous host who provided some excellent local knowledge helping us to make the most of our 3 days. The bedrooms were clean and very comfortable with various soaps and shampoo, chocolates and coffee/tea facilities. The cooked breakfast is a great start to the day and I recommend the thick cut bacon!

Reviewer:Paul Sexton | Mon 31st Jul 2017


Excellent location and supeb sevice - Rating 5/5

The guest house is located in a vety scenic area in Hawkshead. All the basics like a restaurant, supermarket, pharmacy etc. are within 100 meters.Darren really works round the clock to keep things perfectly in order. The room was nice and clean. Decent breakfast.In fact we forgot some items at the guesthouse which were dispatched same day by courier to our location in London. Very thankful to Darren for his support. Nice Indian restaurant at a 20 minutes diving distance.

Reviewer:Jameel Ahsan | Thu 27th Jul 2017


Friendly and helpful- Rating 5/5

The couple running Ivy Guest House are very friendly and welcoming. My friends\' dog was unwell and the Ivy House team organised a vet\'s appointment first thing on a Monday morning. As well as getting up extra early to prepare breakfast so that I could make a business meeting.

Reviewer:Daniel Gilbert | Wed 26th Jul 2017


Fab fab fab fab jist fab - Rating 5/5

Every aspect is 5 star.if you go to hawkshead you would be a fool not to stop here

Reviewer:Peter Scott | Tue 25th Jul 2017


home from home - Rating 5/5

We very much enjoyed our stay at Ivy Guest House.We were made very welcome as was our dog who entertained everyone by howling at breakfast time.The bedroom was very comfortable (lovely pillows) and nothing had been overlooked.Really good full English breakfast to start the day.Will stay here again when next in the Lakes.

Reviewer:Janet Woollard | Mon 17th Jul 2017


Quaint and Peaceful - Rating 5/5

\"Have you ever been to the Lake District?\"This is a fairly common question amongst people that love to travel and holiday-makers seeking a break within the UK. My response to this question had always been in the negative until two months ago when the decision to find out what all the noise about the Lake District was all about. I therefore did my research and discovered a little hamlet known as Hawkshead. Further investigation led to my communication with a gentleman known as Darren who is the proprietor and manager of \'The Ivy Guest House\'.My connection with Darren over the phone was instant. I found Darren pleasantly open, friendly, helpful and trustworthy. I therefore wasted no time in finalising my holiday to the Lake District by making my accommodation arrangements with him. A few days before my arrival, circumstances compelled me to alter the dates of my stay. Darren, ever the gentleman and with his superior customer service skills, was able to make some changes to accommodate four adults. The \'Ivy Guest House\' is the perfect setting for writers, meditators and those seeking a few days of freedom from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. I found the \'Ivy\' clean, adequately provisioned and peaceful. Darren also advised me on where to visit along with tips on what to do. English breakfast is well made and served and there is a supply of fruit, cereal and pain au chocolat that I developed a taste for. But most of all, Darren\'s customer service is simply exemplary and I would unhesitantly recommend the \'Ivy Guest House\' and even come back.

Reviewer:Richard Mwangi | Sat 8th Jul 2017


lovely stay - Rating 5/5

this is fourth time we have stayed here its a wonderful b&B with charming owners wouldnt dream of going anywhere else while in lakedistrict very good breakfast spotless rooms looking forward to next visit.

Reviewer:Mrs. Linda Wakelin | Sun 2nd Jul 2017


Birthday trip - Rating 5/5

Had a great time, room comfortable with all we needed.Breakfast was really nice . Darren and Roz looked after us ,Ideal location for the village and surrounding areaThanks ,we will be back

Reviewer:Keith Douglas | Fri 16th Jun 2017


Lovely! - Rating 5/5

Thanks for making us (and our dog) feel very at home - we enjoyed staying at Ivy Guest House.

Reviewer:Tom Waite | Tue 13th Jun 2017


Short break- Rating 5/5

Thanks so much for a lovely two night stay . We will definitely be back ! We felt at home as soon as we arrived. 10/10 👍

Reviewer:Mrs. Joy Meek | Fri 9th Jun 2017


Home from Home - Rating 5/5

Friendly helpful staff. Very clean and comfortable, food 10 out of 10. We will being going, one of the best places we have stayed at

Reviewer:Anita Solomon | Tue 6th Jun 2017


Bank holiday short break - Rating 5/5

We were made very welcome by pleasant helpful friendly ownersRoom lovely, very clean &comfortable. Breakfast very nice plenty of choice well cooked. Great location for visiting many attractions.

Reviewer:Julia Thompson | Thu 1st Jun 2017


excellent - Rating 5/5

2nd time at Ivy Guest House, great hospitality, lovely and clean, close to windermere, Grasmere etc

Reviewer:NORMAN HEYES | Tue 23rd May 2017


a real gem - Rating 5/5

i came here with a few friends and was greeted with a warm welcome by darren the owner.He made us feel welcome. the breakfast was great - the room was comfy. the lounge was great as me and my two friends had to ourselves.As we were leaving darren told us about a place down the road that we should see. There was no way we would have found it but.... WOW!if you visit ask darren to show you towards a nice local lake ;)

Reviewer:Martin Fairall | Tue 23rd May 2017


Four poster comfort - Rating 4/5

Been coming here for many years. It\'s a lovely guest house. Daren is a fine host! Wouldn\'t want to stay anywhere else in hawkshead.

Reviewer:Anthony OBrien | Thu 18th May 2017


We loved it. - Rating 5/5

Darren and Roz made us very welcome,the breakfast was very good also Darren had good local info to help with the best places to visit.The little touches in the room were very nice(our dog liked the biscuits).Hope to be back again soon.

Reviewer:QUINTON YOUNGS | Sun 14th May 2017


Home away from home - Rating 5/5

Darren and Roz made my stay very comfortable, even to the point of organizing a prescription from their local doctor.

Reviewer:Pam Fitzhardinge | Sun 7th May 2017


Pleasant and enjoyable - Rating 4/5

Stayed in one of the cottages, which was well prepared and clean. We were made welcome on arrival and ach day. The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choices.Would suggest the shower floor needs a non-slip mat as the it becomes very slippery after use with the softness of water and soap/shampoo. We would certainly for. Return visit in the future.

Reviewer:Mr. Mike Crome | Wed 26th Apr 2017


Short stay - Rating 5/5

A lovely place to stay,spotlessly clean,a good breakfast.The host Darren is very generous with his local knowledge without being intrusive.We would certainly return.

Reviewer:Marjorie Ann Rankin | Sat 22nd Apr 2017


Welcoming Stay in Comfortable Home - Rating 5/5

We were welcomed warmly even though we arrived out of check in time. Comfortable room and bed, good breakfast, and warm friendly hosts!Wifi was good too.

Reviewer:Evangeline Tan | Wed 19th Apr 2017


Short Break - Rating 5/5

Really enjoyed our stay every thing was excellent again. Thank you Darren Roz and staff.

Reviewer:Mrs. Susan Holdsworth | Tue 18th Apr 2017


Excellent Stay... - Rating 5/5

An excellent stay in an equally excellent location. Welcoming, clean and a hearty breakfast to set you up for the day. The village also offers excellent places to dine in the evening and the now rare convenience of a post office, chemist and co-op. Thoroughly recommend.

Reviewer:Karen Shepherdson | Mon 10th Apr 2017


I - Rating 5/5

We found the B&B excellent clean comfy and the breakfasts were the best.Darren was very helpful and kept us busy.

Reviewer:Richard Pidgeon | Sun 9th Apr 2017


Weekend break - Rating 4/5

We had a lovely time, the guest house is spotlessly clean, staff are all friendly and welcoming and hawkshead is a fabulous place to stay.

Reviewer:Amanda Waites | Wed 29th Mar 2017


Short break - Rating 4/5

We stayed for 3 nights and were made very welcome,good breakfast and spotlessly clean would definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Kay Tunnicliffe | Tue 28th Mar 2017


Winter break - Rating 5/5

One of the most comfortable, peaceful, clean and friendly place we have stayed in. Was sorry to leave after three nights. Will be back! Thank you Darren for the lovely breakfasts.

Reviewer:Miss. anita jones | Thu 23rd Mar 2017


Fabulous as always - Rating 5/5

Stayed in the double room in the lodge with a bath. The room was beautifully clean as always and Darren could not make us feel more welcome. Thank you.

Reviewer:Mrs. Lindsay Lloyd | Mon 20th Mar 2017


Cosy - Rating 5/5

Friendly, comfortable beds, spotless, would thoroughly recommend

Reviewer:Alison Jones | Tue 14th Mar 2017


Great few days - Rating 5/5

Darren was a great host. Breakfast was good quality. Rooms were great. Dog friendly it certainly is. Would definitely recommend it for a stay.

Reviewer:Mr. BarryReddington| Mon 16th Jan 2017


Great Stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely clean and interesting property. Owner and staff are great.... would 100% recommend..

Reviewer:Richard Bains | Tue 3rd Jan 2017


Ivy guest house -Hawkshead- Rating 5/5

Ivy Guest house is a beautiful building, as soon as I walked in the front door I loved it. Darren and his lovely Mum were so welcoming and made you feel at home straight away. I would not stay anywhere else in Hawks head other than here.

Reviewer:Christine Cain | Sat 31st Dec 2016


Great stay - Rating 5/5

Second time here, as good as the first

Reviewer:Roy Littler | Thu 29th Dec 2016


Delightful B&B with lovely owners - Rating 5/5

We stayed one night in this absolutely delightful B&B. It was spotlessly clean, the breakfast was great and the hosts went out of their way to make us feel welcome and looked after. Its a perfect location too, we will definitely return.

Reviewer:Rebecca Greenfield | Fri 16th Dec 2016


30th Wedding Anniversary - Rating 5/5

Couldn\'t have found a prettier, more welcoming place to stay for our special day. Darren was helpful in finding a place to eat, in fact he phoned us in advance. The bedroom was lovely, everything you needed and more, including a really nice room spray.The breakfast waitress was pleasant and helpful. Only problem, the poached eggs were hard but we can live with that. Ala in all, an excellent, above standard B&B.

Reviewer:Christine Wheatman | Tue 13th Dec 2016


5* - Rating 5/5

Darren, Roz, the service, breakfast, the bedroom, on site parking, cleanliness, location &all the facilities nothing short of 5*. Best place we\'ve stayed in Hawkshead.

Reviewer:Mr. Keith Bryan | Wed 7th Dec 2016


a little break- Rating 5/5

we only stayed one night but it was very nice Darren the host was brill and made us feel at home it was a very nice stay and would recommend anyone to stay we loved it thanks

Reviewer:Ken Scott | Fri 2nd Dec 2016


Weekend away- Rating 5/5

We had a fantastic stay Darren and Roz are verylovely the room vas Great breakfast was fantastic would definitelystay again and would recommend it thank youSarah 😀👌🏼

Reviewer:Sarah Martin | Mon 28th Nov 2016


Chill out at the Ivy guest house - Rating 5/5

Excellent place to stay, very clean and tidy and food was great. Booked up for next year already. Very pleasant and helpful owners and staff.

Reviewer:David Lee | Mon 28th Nov 2016


Fantastic 3 days!- Rating 5/5

Very warm welcome and a very comfortable stay! Huge comfy bed and the best breakfast ever! Couldn\'t ask for more, Darren and Roz are perfect hosts and we will definitely be back!!!

Reviewer:Irene Davies | Thu 17th Nov 2016


Perfect stay - Rating 5/5

What a lovely place -lovely room with a four poster bed excellent breakfast and run by salt of the earth West Midlands folk ( we are from Birmingham ! ) would definitely recommend it to friends and will certainly visit again

Reviewer:Gail Walkerdine | Mon 14th Nov 2016


Bonfire weekend- Rating 5/5

We stayed right in the centre of Hawkshead for bonfire weekend, Darren &Roz are excellent hosts, they couldn\'t do enough to ensure are stay was perfect.Breakfasts were the best we have had in the 7 years of us visiting the lakes.We will be staying again!

Reviewer:Jason Byrne | Mon 7th Nov 2016


weekend stay - Rating 5/5

Cracking stay really friendly great location will defo be back

Reviewer:Ian Campbell | Mon 7th Nov 2016


First B&B in Hawkshead - Rating 5/5

Friendly helpful staff made us feel welcome from arrival to departure. Clean comfortable accommodation. Excellent breakfast.

Reviewer:Geoffrey Smith | Sat 5th Nov 2016


Ivy Guest House Review - Rating 4/5

Great place. Rooms clean and comfortable. Staff very friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend and hope to stay again sometime in the future

Reviewer:Andy Westwell | Tue 25th Oct 2016


Weekend break - Rating 4/5

A very warm welcome. Room was clean and comfortable, very well kitted out with everything you need in a home away from home. Breakfast was just what is needed before a full day of exploring the beautiful near by countryside.

Reviewer:Julia Maughan | Mon 24th Oct 2016


Charming - Rating 5/5

Lovely guest house, warm comfortable and very quiet. Friendly and efficient staff. Breakfast nicely cooked and generous portions will set you up for your walking. Very dog friendly. Would recommend this guest house highly. Thank you so much for your welcome.

Reviewer:Mrs. margaret broomfield-payne | Sat 22nd Oct 2016


Would definitely go back - Rating 5/5

Great location, friendly host, nice breakfast

Reviewer:John Edwards | Sat 22nd Oct 2016


Excellent accomodation, fantastic location - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed our stay at The Ivy Guest House, the room was spacious, comfortable and had everything you would need, with some extra little touches. Darren was friendly and helpful. The location of the Ivy is fantastic, only minutes from the amenities snd attractions in Hawkshead. We will definately recommend the Ivy and hope to return soon.

Reviewer:Mrs. Deborah Gaskell | Mon 10th Oct 2016


A Warmer Welcome - Rating 5/5

A very comfortable guest house with a really warm and friendly welcome.It was a lovely stay and I have no hesitation in recommending a stay there.

Reviewer:Susan Hill | Sat 8th Oct 2016


Fabulous - Rating 5/5

Thanks Darren and Roz for a wonderful stay. Such attention to detail, so welcoming and hospitable - absolutely perfect. Hope to see you again in the future.

Reviewer:Mr. Ross Allan | Fri 7th Oct 2016


Excellent Accommodation - Rating 5/5

Stayed two nights at the Ivy Guest House.Spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Delicious breakfasts. Darren the manager and Heather who served our breakfasts were helpful and thoughtful. We\'ll be back!

Reviewer:Mr. Paul Ekers | Sun 2nd Oct 2016


Enjoyable stay at Ivy Cottage - Rating 5/5

A very warm welcome and cosy room (if a bit small) very comfortable.Hawkshead is a lovely place to with 4 good pubs within a 2 minute walk of Ivy Cottage.

Reviewer:Pat Stewart | Sat 1st Oct 2016


Great place to stay - Rating 5/5

We had 2 lovely nights at Ivy Guest House. Very comfortable, great breakfast and excellent hosts.The village is so quaint and a great base for walking.We will definately stay again.

Reviewer:Heather Ansell | Thu 15th Sep 2016


Shame we have not been sooner - Rating 5/5

All the staff went out of their way to make our stay a real pleasure. Will be a destination of choice from now on. The breakfast is great and the rooms excellent. Well done to Darren, Roz and their team.

Reviewer:Robin Griffiths | Thu 8th Sep 2016


Ivy House, Hawkshead - Rating 5/5

Darren and Roz looked after us so very well, they couldn\'t have done more, what a lovely couple. We enjoyed our visit and will definitely be going back. The breakfast was fab too

Reviewer:Mrs. Fiona Webster | Thu 1st Sep 2016


Very comfortable stay - Rating 5/5

we stayed for 2 night in August.Lovely room with en suite,very clean and nice toiletries in the bathroom. Breakfast was great . Staff super friendly would recommend this Guest House.

Reviewer:Adele Rayment | Tue 30th Aug 2016


Ideal base - Rating 5/5

Only had a few days in the Lakes and your guest house was perfectly placed for us. Very comfortable, quiet and super clean, thank you! Appreciated the tip about booking a pub dinner and loved the breakfast bacon - bostin\'!

Reviewer:Mrs. Debbie Woodmass | Tue 23rd Aug 2016


Relaxing stay - Rating 5/5

We have just had five lovely days in the lake District staying at Ivy Guest House. A lovely home from home, great hospitality and food and thanks again Darren for the excellent advice re walks in the area. We can fully recommend staying here you will not be dissapointed.

Reviewer:Mr. David Milner | Sat 20th Aug 2016


A lovely B&B - Rating 5/5

We rented a family room for my two adult children and dog, and a double for my husband and I. for one night.Both rooms were very comfortable, the owner very welcoming, and Ivy house was fabulous, in a beautiful village.We hope to stay again!

Reviewer:Cathy Tyler | Wed 17th Aug 2016


Relaxing break - Rating 4/5

Just the place for a quiet relaxed break

Reviewer:Peter Foster | Mon 15th Aug 2016


August cold snap - Rating 5/5

Many thanks for your hospitality on our recent stay with you,we were both delighted with your guest house and facilities offered.We were especially delighted with the the heating being on we had sat in a tent in a muddy field with the youngsters so much appreciated

Reviewer:Barrie Jones | Sat 13th Aug 2016


chilled break - Rating 5/5

second time we have stayed here definitely will book again

Reviewer:George Rose | Thu 11th Aug 2016


Lovely, friendly B and B - Rating 5/5

we were welcomed on arrival and shown to our rooms which were beautifully clean. Excellent facilities, comfortable beds and a very good breakfast. It is hard to ask for more, but a Cumberland sausage with breakfast would have been the icing on the cake. Very friendly. Would go again.

Reviewer:Michael Ord | Tue 9th Aug 2016


Lovely weekend away. - Rating 5/5

We received a very friendly welcome at the ivy.Darren was very helpful in recommending walks and places to eat. The room was clean, comfortable and the breakfast very tasty. Would stay there again and recommend to friends. Thank you.

Reviewer:Graeme Erskine | Sat 30th Jul 2016


Stay with a dog! - Rating 5/5

A delightful, very dog-friendly house - warm welcome and very comfortable accommodation. Would recommend it and return when in the Lakes again. Thank you!

Reviewer:Alison McCandlish | Thu 28th Jul 2016


Very hospitable- Rating 5/5

Pleasant surroundings, comfortable beds, large room, excellent service and good food. What\'s not to like !.

Reviewer:Philip Dalbeck | Wed 27th Jul 2016


Summer break - Rating 5/5

Lovely house and village. Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Brian Pill | Sun 17th Jul 2016


Ms - Rating 5/5

Very friendly. Clean and comfortable. Breakfast was delicious!

Reviewer:Mrs. Sylvia Gill | Sun 17th Jul 2016


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

Room very comfortable. Great superkingsize bed. The owner and staff are really friendly and the breakfasts were excellent. Great location.

Reviewer:Mrs. Caroline Wright | Fri 15th Jul 2016


lovely b and b - Rating 5/5

very nice two night stay,comfortable room,great breakfast and darren was a wonderful host would recommend.

Reviewer:Philip Crowder | Thu 14th Jul 2016


Very comfortable stay - Rating 4/5

We spent one night at Ivy Guesthouse and enjoyed a very comfortable stay. Thank you Darren.

Reviewer:Richard Withey | Tue 5th Jul 2016


Fantastic B&B in a great location- Rating 5/5

Staff friendly and helpful from the start. Location is 30 seconds from center of hawkshead. B&B is larger than the pictures would lead you to think - in a good way, feels like an intimate family run hotel

Reviewer:Jonathan McEnery | Tue 5th Jul 2016


weekend stay - Rating 5/5

very comfortable B+b. Made to feel welcome. Room very nice, comfortable bed. Good supply of very nice shower gel etc in bathroom. Breakfast was very good.

Reviewer:Mr. Andrew Kearsley | Mon 4th Jul 2016


weekend stay,jeffrey Buck & Andrew Hawtin - Rating 5/5

My friend and I have just enjoyed a 2 night stay.Everything was perfect - the rooms,the food and the staff.We\'d like to thank Darren and Roz,and their staff for a very pleasant and welcoming visit.

Reviewer:Jeffrey Buck | Wed 29th Jun 2016


Overnight delight - Rating 5/5

Amazing welcome fro Darren.we were treated very well throughout our stay and made to feel like we were at home straight away. Lovely room although when we next stay we will take advantage of one of the bigger rooms. Amazing breakfast,couldnt fault any if it and service was relaxed and homely. Loved staying here would definitely recommend to anyone

Reviewer:Linda Moss | Sat 25th Jun 2016


charming b&b - Rating 5/5

thankyou for another fantastic stay the room was perfect as usual great location,lovely breakfasts wonderful hosts a very relaxing stay thankyou and see you next year.

Reviewer:Mrs. Linda Wakelin | Thu 23rd Jun 2016


Super holiday accommodation - Rating 5/5

A super venue in a beautiful village. Perfect for sightseeing in the Lakes. Wonderful hosts who were really friendly and helpful and provided a superb English breakfast !!!!

Reviewer:Edith Howley | Mon 6th Jun 2016


What a welcome ! - Rating 5/5

Lovely rooms, perfect location....beautiful breakfast. We will return

Reviewer:Helen Lloyd-Higham | Sat 4th Jun 2016


ONE NIGHT STAY - Rating 5/5

lovely clean hotel.Really friendly host\'s Darren and Roz .Breakfast very filling, plenty of everything.We will be going back for longer next time. Lovely little touches in room, Teddy on bed with chocolates in paws.just wonderful to chill here.

Reviewer:GAIL COYNE | Sat 4th Jun 2016


Lovely guest house - Rating 5/5

We really enjoyed our stay at the ivy guest house. Very comfortable clean rooms. Darren and roz were very friendly and welcoming hosts. The full english breakfast was lovely. The guest house is in the lovely little village of hawkeshead where there are plenty ofpubs, gift shops, a pharmacy and a coop. No complaints at all, we would definately stay here again. Thankyou

Reviewer:Tracey Ritchie | Mon 23rd May 2016


A real treat - Rating 5/5

I booked this break as a surprise treat for my wife and we were not disappointed. We really enjoyed it the house was full of interesting things to admire, the room in itself was lovely and the breakfast set us up for the day.We found Darren and Roz very welcoming and friendly, there was however one downside....we had to leave so soon.... but hope to return one day. Thankyou again for a wonderful break Pete &Linda Taplin

Reviewer:Mr. peter taplin | Sat 21st May 2016


Excellent hosts in a cozy setting - Rating 5/5

My husband and I were only able to stay a short while with Darren and Roz, but they went above and beyond to make sure that we had a relaxing stay at their lovely B&B. Truly, they are the most accommodating and wonderful hosts I\'ve ever had! The village of Hawkshead was great for a quiet country retreat, and we loved how close it is to Lake Windermere. Our only regret is that we didn\'t stay longer. We cannot wait to return, and would absolutely recommend!

Reviewer:Mrs. MichelleBlush | Sat 14th May 2016


Another excellent stay - Rating 5/5

Having stayed here before there was no doubt that if visiting Hawkshead why try somewhere new as this place is a little gem.The service you get from the moment you arrive is attentive, nothing is too much trouble.Darren and Roz are lovely people running a smashing guest house in a great village that we love and we will be abck again in the future.Thanks Darren and Roz.

Reviewer:Mrs. Joanne Aldam | Mon 9th May 2016


Fab short break - Rating 5/5

We had a fab time. Darren was extremely welcoming and provided us with excellent advice about walks in the area.The breakfast was excellent and set us up for the day. Will definitely visit again

Reviewer:Susan Kerr | Sat 16th Apr 2016


Two night stay - Rating 5/5

Ivy Guesthouse is in a great location with excellent hosts. Very clean and comfortable with a great choice for breakfast. Highly recommended, would definitely visit again.

Reviewer:Margaret Mckeen | Fri 15th Apr 2016


Great accommodation and location. - Rating 5/5

We stayed for three nights in a family room. The owners were very helpful with information on where to visit. The accommodation was very comfortable and well presented and in a great location. It is within walking distance of four pubs serving good food and a handful of coffee shops. Would recommend.

Reviewer:Mr. catherine massie | Sun 10th Apr 2016


Superb - Rating 5/5

Roz &Darren were the most amazing hosts.Their Inn is like an extension of their house, and they went out of their way to make us feel welcome and ensure we had the best visit to the lake district (well, apart from organise sunshine, but this is forgiven!).From a 5* breakfast in the morning (including a place set every day for our 1 year-old little girl complete with highchair and monkey cutlery!), to lighting a log fire in the evenings so we could warm up and dry out, we could not have asked for more.We\'ll be returning again soon!

Reviewer:Mrs. Lauren Collett | Tue 29th Mar 2016


What a delight - Rating 4/5

Having chose the Ivy Guest House out of the blue, we were delighted with what we found. The room was as godd as one could expect for the price, but the comfort of the bed, the large shower and the provision of quality liquid soap, shampoo and room freshner made it exceptional. What stood out was the attention of Darren and Roz to making us so welcome, and the lovely extras found in the dining room.

Reviewer:Hamish Clark | Sun 27th Mar 2016


Ivy house hawkshead - Rating 5/5

Four of us stayed here for three nights and darren and ros went that extra mile. They were very helpful with our planned walks. The guest house was very very clean and the finishing touches were remarkable. Breakfast was fab.

Reviewer:Mrs. Gwyneth Waistell | Mon 21st Mar 2016


A happy experience - Rating 5/5

Thank you very much to Darren and Ros for making our two day stay at Ivy Guest House such a happy experience. Our room was warm and cosy, with a very comfortable bed, and Darren\'s breakfasts are a real treat.As the notice on the door says, \'we arrived as guests and left as friends\'.

Reviewer:Hilary Cottam | Thu 7th Jan 2016


29.12.15 - Rating 5/5

Absolutely lovely cosy guest house, very convenient in the village. Our 4 poster room was excellent, spotlessly clean and presented. Room to park,friendly welcome, super guest lounge and breakfast. Very pleased we stayed.

Reviewer:Roger Halsted | Thu 31st Dec 2015


relaxing break- Rating 5/5

great hosts , very comfortable stay home from home , will return soon

Reviewer:Antony Houghton | Wed 16th Dec 2015


Work trip - Rating 4/5

Lovely place, right in the middle of the village with parking.Nice room and great breakfast.

Reviewer:Terry Crick | Sat 5th Dec 2015


A Warm Welcome and a comfortable stay! - Rating 5/5

Thank you to Darren and Roz for your warm welcome and comfortable room.Nothing was too much trouble (thank you again for my porridge!) Ivy Guest House is literally two minutes from the attractions of Hawkshead yet very quiet.Our bed was particularly comfortable (and large!)

Reviewer:Wendy Carlyle | Mon 9th Nov 2015


Superb and charming - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed a short break and found the rooms, food and owners to be excellent, lovely old school charm.

Reviewer:Philip Harrison | Sat 31st Oct 2015


little break - Rating 5/5

Brilliant hotel . Lovely room . Brilliant hospitality .

Reviewer:Michael McMullen | Thu 29th Oct 2015


Ivy guest house - Rating 5/5

Wonderful 3 night stay in the four poster room with my twin sister and my daughter. We loved everything about Ivy guest house, the setting in beautiful Hawkeshead, the rooms, the geogious longe with wood burner where we shared wine with other families and the kids played cards! Pet friendly, amazing breakfasts with loads of choice and a big warm welcome from our perfect hosts Darren and his mam, a huge thank you to you both, we are well rested, spoilt rotton and very happy with our stay with you- we will be back!! Xxx

Reviewer:Ms. Sarah Paterson | Thu 29th Oct 2015


Super stay love room 2 for families- Rating 5/5

Once again 100% , to the ivy guest house ! Thank you to Darren and staff ! Regards Laura and family !

Reviewer:Laura Doolin | Wed 28th Oct 2015


Lovely location - Rating 5/5

We love the area and was lucky to be able to stay an extra night without moving accommodation. Ivy cottage was lovely and so centrally located in the quaint village of Hawkshead. Darren was very helpful giving us tourist advice. The breakfast was delicious.

Reviewer:ALISON Watson | Wed 16th Sep 2015


nice place to be - Rating 4/5

good breakfast, nice home

Reviewer:Nicole Ecker Thomas Brand | Fri 11th Sep 2015


One night Stay - Rating 5/5

Very clean and lovely looking room.Very friendly staff make you feel very welcome.Highly Recommended.

Reviewer:Charles Masterman | Fri 28th Aug 2015


Couldn\'t be better! - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely time at Ivy Guest House from start to finish. Rooms were of a really high standard, very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was superb and the location is fantastic. The staff couldn\'t have been more friendly and helpful and we are looking forward to our next visit already. Superb!

Reviewer:Adrian Robb | Mon 24th Aug 2015


Five Star Guest House - Rating 5/5

A great clean,friendly and well located place to stay and I must mention how good the breakfasts were.Thanks to all for making our three night stay memorable,Peter &Kath Thompson

Reviewer:Peter Thompson | Fri 14th Aug 2015


Two night stay - Rating 5/5

A lovely bed and breakfast. Four poster bed in room with lovely welcoming touches. Darren and Roz were friendly and helpful. Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Michelle Charalambous | Mon 29th Jun 2015


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Amazing. ......we had a fabulous few days at the Ivy Guest House and we would definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Joy Mettam | Sat 27th Jun 2015


Very comfortable stay! - Rating 5/5

We had a 2 night stay in this lovely b&b. We were given a very warm welcome on arrival. The rooms had all the amenities you required and the bed was exceptionally comfortable. Breakfast was delicious! The owners of the guesthouse were very helpful in advising on great places to visit. Would definitely visit again!

Reviewer:Mrs. Emma Dakin | Mon 22nd Jun 2015


Enjoy the experience. - Rating 4/5

Perfectly situated in Hawkshead for wonderful walking, being able to start the day with a full english breakfast and finishing it in a very comfortable bed! Very clean whilst being very homely. Excellent hosts too!

Reviewer:Mrs. Alison Hardwell | Wed 17th Jun 2015


Nice room, great location, excellent hosts - Rating 5/5

Warm welcome on arrival, lovely comfortable room, great breakfast,brilliant facilities, lovely house in a very nice village with great pubs. Nothing was too much trouble. Will definitely visit again.

Reviewer:Carol Pringle | Wed 3rd Jun 2015


Fabulous Stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely guest house, room fabulous with lots of extra little touches.Breakfast was great and the hosts are very friendly, we will definitely stay again!

Reviewer:Miss. Karen Mangan | Wed 3rd Jun 2015


Lovely hosts - Rating 5/5

Darren and Roz are such friendly, welcoming hosts. They were happy to take time over breakfast to chat and share tips for staying in the area. Speaking of breakfast, it was absolutely delicious ranging from cereals, yogurts and pastries to the most perfectly cooked hot breakfast. Our room was quiet and comfortable and provided a restful nights sleep in this homely guesthouse which is right in the centre of Hawkshead village. We were very happy with our stay and will certainly stay again when in the area.

Reviewer:Mrs. Sharron Rowson | Mon 1st Jun 2015


Nothing is to much trouble- Rating 5/5

We stayed at the Ivy for a weekend to celebrate a birthday with three other couples we were made to feel at home and nothing was too much trouble Darren and Ross really looked after us . Top weekend in a superb location , all that you could wish for to enjoy the craic with good friends.

Reviewer:Mr. Philip Wright | Mon 18th May 2015


Perfect in every way - Rating 5/5

What a find this place is. The Ivy guest house is a brilliant place to stay.We arrived to a warm welcome from the owner and were taken up to our room where all the facilities were explained.Our room (number 1) featured a super king sized bed, lovely furnishings and to top it all a roll top bath in the ensuite bathroom.There were lots of good quality toiletries provided and some nice extra touches such as a tiny sewing kit really added to the luxury feel of the room. There is also a flat screen TV.We took our dog and the owners had thoughtfully provided a little bag of dog treats as well along with a mat for dog bowls. Breakfast was really great.Lots of things on offer such as pastries, fruit, yoghurt and fruit juice.The freshly cooked full English breakfast was really nice and you could choose any combination of different things to have which made the whole experience really good.The Ivy is a big house and offers a lovely guest sitting room with lots of books and information on the area as well as a TV.the whole place is furnished to a high standard and close to all the pubs and attractions in Hawkshead.If you are looking for a pet friendly guest house that provides a little luxury as well then you will not find anything better in the Lake district.

Reviewer:Gethin Richards | Tue 12th May 2015


Great guest house - Rating 5/5

Stayed here for the weekend while attending a wedding. Darren and Roz were very welcoming and couldn\'t do enough for us. The house is spotless throughout. Breakfasts are fantastic. Would definitely recommend to anyone.

Reviewer:Wendy Ratcliffe | Mon 4th May 2015


Superb B&B - Rating 5/5

Lovely, well appointed room with nice extra touches.Excellent choice at breakfast and very welcoming, knowledgeable hosts, for whom nothing was too much trouble.Next time we\'ll bring the dog too!

Reviewer:Sally Cadec | Wed 29th Apr 2015


Welcoming & Comfortable - Rating 5/5

Had a lovely weekend at Ivy.Hosts welcoming &friendly.Room very comfortable &food excellent.The extra touches in the room make u feel special.Chocolate &a teddy bear &the toiletries were lovely.The whole place made us smile, the little toys &quirky ornaments.Just likehome from home.Looking forward to returning in June &think this will always be our choice of stays in the Lakes in future.

Reviewer:Barbara Lowe | Mon 20th Apr 2015


The Perfect Place - Rating 5/5

From our first step through the door, we were delighted with the warmth of the welcome and ambience of Ivy Guest House. The finishing touches in the rooms, from toy hedgehogs to the chocolates, well laid tea and coffee trays, to the bathroom accessories, gave a homely feel. The beds were extremely comfortable, followed by a good variety of choice for a delicious breakfast. The personal touch of remembering our names made us feel valued guests;plus the welcome to the dog! We would happily return! Thank you Ivy Guest House.

Reviewer:Katherine Lee | Wed 15th Apr 2015


too short a stay - Rating 5/5

An excellent establishnent with stylish decor and real sense of hominess. Great facilities including wifi family room and quality bacon. Will be staying again.

Reviewer:Charles Harrioson | Tue 14th Apr 2015


Ivy guest house, hawkshead- Rating 5/5

Lovely listed house in the quaint medieval village of hawkshead. Very welcoming. Comfortable and clean room. The breakfast was very good and lots to choose from. We were given excellent suggestions of places to visit and where to eat. Will definitely be returning.

Reviewer:Linda Rowley | Sun 12th Apr 2015


excellent - Rating 4/5

Really enjoyable stay at Ivy Guest House, lovely house &lovely hosts who are very friendly &knowledgeable about where to go and what to see in the area. A fabulous breakfast too, will go to stay there again.

Reviewer:Mr. Vincent Rollinson | Sun 12th Apr 2015


Loved it! - Rating 5/5

My boyfriend and I were welcomed in to Ivy Guest house with open arms, our room was clean, airy and comfortable. The service was warm and friendly - at breakfast we were spoilt for choice. Our options for a full english were met at our preferences and cooked to a delicious standard. There are also cereals, fruits, yoghurts and pastries on offer. The staff took hospitality to a high level by talking with guests, asking about our day and our plans, giving their own suggestions. I know the weather is out of anyone\'s control but we were lucky enough to have glorious sunshine and the whole village was in a summer holiday mood.definately recommend this place, would like to visit again, thank you!

Reviewer:Miss. Amy Richardson | Sat 11th Apr 2015


Such a welcoming home from home - Rating 5/5

From our first arrival through to leaving 3 days later, Darren and Ros were the perfect hosts. We visited the Ivy Guest House as 2 couples on a long walking weekend in the lovely Hawkshead area. The breakfasts were truly first class - the bacon was probably the best we have ever tasted in a full English. We did 2 walks directly from Hawkshead. On the first we walked up to and around Tarn Hows - well worth visiting this National Trust area. The second took us on a walk over to Wray Castle and then down the side of Lake Windemere, over the lake on the car ferry and up to Bowness. From Bowness we caught the Windemere Steamer up to Ambleside where we caught the bus back to Hawkshead. A really wonderful day. Ros even offered to collect us from Ambleside if we struggled to catch the bus as it was a Sunday.There are 4 great pubs in Hawkshead. Only being there for 3 nights we only managed to eat at 3 of them, but these 3 all served excellent food and good beers. After an evening out, the Ivy Guest House has a relaxing lounge with an enormous TV (ideal for Match of the Day!) - they even provide wine glasses if you take your own bottle.A great stay in a super Guest House with a very welcoming and lovely couple. We will definitely stay there next time we visit the southern Lake District.

Reviewer:Mr. Brian Wilson | Wed 8th Apr 2015


Lovely - Rating 5/5

Very warm and welcoming people. Very clean. Comfortable rooms and great breakfast. We had a lovely experience. I would definitely recommend.

Reviewer:Jo Heffernan | Mon 23rd Mar 2015


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Our second visit to stay at the Ivy Guest House and again fantastic from the welcome and care to the comfort and food which were all absolutely amazing. We were able to bring our dog who was equally welcome. Will definitely come again and probably bring more family members. Thank you to Darren and Roz with their staff who work so hard to create that special experience for all their customers.

Reviewer:Mrs. Jo Disney-Spiers | Sat 21st Mar 2015


A perfect Getaway- Rating 5/5

A lovely clean comfortable guest house. The staff are very friendly and can\'t do enough for you! Breakfast was delicious and cooked to perfection.

Reviewer:Janet Simpson | Wed 25th Feb 2015


A great B & B - Rating 5/5

Had a wonderful 3 night stay at Ivy Guest House. Darren was a great host for whom nothing was too much trouble. Room was bright, clean and comfy and breakfast was a treat. The log burner in the resident\'s lounge was a welcome bonus. Would love to return and would recommend it as a great base for exploring the area.

Reviewer:Mrs. Susan Bailey | Sun 22nd Feb 2015


simply lovely - Rating 5/5

A warm welcome from our host was the start of our time in the lakes. Our four poster room was cosy and ever so comfortable,a bed you didnt want to get out of in the morning comfy. Breakfast was superb. The finest bacon we\'ve had in a very long time. the added bonus of tge log burner in the guests lounge just made it a wonderful stay. That we will happily return to

Reviewer:Nigel Hannam | Sat 21st Feb 2015


Fab February break - Rating 5/5

Just returned from a lovely 2 night break at the Ivy Guest house , ideally situated in the lovely village of Hawkeshead.Darren and Roz were so welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were spotless and comfortable , complete with a hearty breakfast. Would highly recommend.

Reviewer:Mrs. BarbaraLewis | Tue 17th Feb 2015


Lovely room and friendly service - Rating 4/5

We had a great stay at Ivy Guest House. On arrival there had been a mix up with the rooms which was sorted very quickly and we ended up with a bigger room than we should have! Nice breakfast was served- although the latest we could have it was 9am. Maybe would have liked it to be 9.30/10. We were given lots of advice on what to do in Hawkshead and where we could go walking. Loved it, definitely recommend.

Reviewer:Jennifer Cocker | Mon 5th Jan 2015


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Darren &Roz absolutely fabulous hosts, we had a great time, Darren even stoked the log burner and we spent Saturday evening in the warm lounge, having plenty to slurp.Was just like being home from home, very comfortable and relaxing. And to really help with the Christmas theme as we were all in christmas jumpers, it started snowing on Saturday morning. :-) We will be booking again for next December but will be going back before then!Wonderful.

Reviewer:Mr. Paul King | Mon 15th Dec 2014


Birthday Celebration - Rating 5/5

We stayed for one night. The room was lovely and the bathroom had a really nice slipper bath. Breakfast was filling and cooked well. Altogether a very good guest house.

Reviewer:Erin Robinson | Tue 9th Dec 2014


A Must Stay - Rating 5/5

Enjoyable stay, warm friendly welcome, comfortable room, a home from home definitely recommend staying here.

Reviewer:Julie Andrews | Mon 13th Oct 2014


A few days away - Rating 5/5

Hawhshead is a lovely place to visit and made even better by finding the right B &B. The Ivy Guest House was one such place. Clean, cosy and above all complimented by the welcome and hospitality of Darren.I recommend \'HIGHLY\' the Ivy House Guest House, Hawkshead.

Reviewer:Eric Porter | Sat 4th Oct 2014


Probably the Friendliest B and B in the Lake District- Rating 5/5

Lovely people make a stay at Ivey House a real treat.Breakfast is wonderful and sets you up for a day of walking or driving around the beauty spots.We will be back!

Reviewer:Mr. Brendan Glacken | Wed 1st Oct 2014


Wonderful - Rating 5/5

We have found a little treasure on our doorstep.We live only an hour away,Hawkshead is beautiful and Ivy House was the treasure. Our host was lovely, the breakfast was delicious and our room was more than we expected. We will definitely book again.

Reviewer:Carol Horrocks | Tue 16th Sep 2014


Bliss - Rating 5/5

Had a lovely ne night stay(wish it had been longer) in the Ivy House in September. Darren and his mm were the perfect hosts so lovely and friendly. .Breakfast was amazing....especially the bacon.Hope to stay again soon will definitely be back.Annette &John Ayrshire

Reviewer:John McCulloch | Sun 14th Sep 2014


Excellent house and location - Rating 5/5

Very very nice house, the room is cute, bright and cheerful, most of all, very clean.The bed is so comfortable that it\'s hard for us to get up early during the 5 days\' stay there. :D Breakfast is big and delicious.And the location is easy to reach and find.It\'s near the bus stop.Compare to the B&Bs in Ambleside and Windermere, the Ivy\'s is quite and still very convenient.

Reviewer:Ms. Hongmin Yuan | Fri 12th Sep 2014


Lovely- Rating 5/5

Beautiful location, lovely B &B, fantastic staff.I will return as soon as I can with my family, so I can share this gem of a place with them.

Reviewer:Mr. Nigel Beaton | Tue 9th Sep 2014


excellent - Rating 4/5

very welcome couple and very clean and nice room and reception. We are really satisfied for staying there.

Reviewer:Raheleh Bagheri Zarkandeh | Wed 27th Aug 2014


Weekend Getaway - Rating 5/5

Fantastic guest house, Darren &Roz very knowledgable about the area and walks direct from the guest house.Rooms lovely and clean lovely fresh linen.Breakfast was perfect.What more can I say 10 out of 10 would stay again and recommend to friends.Thanks Darren &Roz

Reviewer:Wendy Caster | Mon 25th Aug 2014


Very good Omotenashi - Rating 5/5

Good location, excellent hospitality. I will recommend my friends.

Reviewer:Yoshihiro Sano | Wed 13th Aug 2014


First stay - Rating 5/5

Really lovely place to stay. Stunning village in a perfect location. Charming house grand yet cosy, in a nice spot. A very friendly and helpful welcome. Fantastic room with beautiful furnishings. lovely staff at breakfast and whenever we met them. Easy and convenient parking. Difficult to think how it could have been better.

Reviewer:Paul Dopson | Sat 9th Aug 2014


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Clean and pretty rooms and very friendly staff and I stongly recommend it to anyone.

Reviewer:Chan Yeob Yeun | Tue 5th Aug 2014


Excellent Stay.- Rating 5/5

Another great stay at the Ivy Guest House in Hawkshead village. Made to feel really welcome again by Darren and Roz. Everything was perfect again, can't wait until our next visit.

Reviewer:Mr. Paul Longworth | Sun 3rd Aug 2014


Short stay - Rating 4/5

From the moment we arrived we felt comfortable. Darren's warm welcome in the car park put us at ease immediately, he even welcomed our dog Jess. The guest house is a lovely building, very clean and comfy. we had a room on the ground floor with a huge comfortable bed and plenty of room for Jess's bed too. It was like staying with friends and the attentive service at breakfast was greatly appreciated. We only stayed the one night but would definitely stay again if we are in the area.

Reviewer:Rosalie Sykes | Mon 28th Jul 2014


Lovely! - Rating 5/5

We did not know Hawkshead before coming but had heard it is the prettiest village in the area.We were not disappointed.And the Ivy Guest House must be the best place to stay.It is central, friendly, with a proprieter who gives excellent directions on where to visit.Lovely food and accommodation.Thank you, Darren.

Reviewer:Lesley Cox | Sat 26th Jul 2014


Amazing - Rating 5/5

Stayed for second time in May for 2 nights in this great little guest house .darren &Roz are 2 of the loveliest people I've met so friendly and welcoming make you feel so at ease guest house lovely clean and has own unique little extras to make stay special .amazing full English breakfast in morning set us up for day and huge selection of cereals fruit yoghurt juices etceverything prepared to your taste nothing to much for owners .all I have to say I would definetly recomend anyone to stay here and are hoping to return soon for 3rd stay .thanks Darren Roz &family hope to see you all soon .Jeff &jackie ..Glasgow

Reviewer:Mr. Jeffrey Jaimeson | Thu 24th Jul 2014


Lovely Stay - Rating 5/5

We thoroughly enjoyed our second stay, and a big thank you to Darren, Roz and team for making our time there so comfortable. Breakfasts were excellent, and rooms very clean and tidy. To top it all the weather was perfect. It's a 300 mile drive for us but we look forward to our next visit soon.

Reviewer:John Morant | Thu 10th Jul 2014


As Good As It Gets - Rating 5/5

Although only our first short stay (but not our last), the Ivy Guest House was a fantastic place to stay. Darren is the perfect host and the place is a credit to him. A beautiful location to spend some time.

Reviewer:Gary Pollard | Wed 2nd Jul 2014


beyond the call of duty - Rating 5/5

Don't normally write reviews but in view of the service justifying the title couldn't do otherwise. Firstly only praise for the facilities and genuine interest to make our stay welcoming and comfortable;especially helpful were freshly made 'bacon butties' to speed our early departure for we had a plane to catch. However the service was beyond excellent and any expectation when two of our party later discovered they had lost / left their car keys at The Ivy, only when we dropped them back at their car, parked some 60 miles away. This was quickly overcome following a phone call and we were able to leave them there, whilst we continued to the plane knowing the keys were on the way courtesy of our caring hosts. Thank you!

Reviewer:Mr. John Wilson | Mon 30th Jun 2014


stay - Rating 4/5

Very nice place to stay, well recommended, nice and freindly couple, no pressure at all

Reviewer:Mr. Barry Hall | Sun 29th Jun 2014


review - Rating 5/5

Lovely B&B - very good breakfast and facilities. Darren was exceptional with his personalized service and the knowledge of the District.

Reviewer:Mrs. Margaret Brown | Mon 16th Jun 2014


Short stay - Rating 5/5

Would have stayed longer if it had been possible

Reviewer:Christine Snape | Sun 15th Jun 2014


Home from Home - Rating 5/5

Stayed here in the twin room with my friend when we were travelling together in the UK, we love Hawkshead so beautiful and lots to see and do,Ivy House truly is like a home from home, from the minute you step through that door you feel so welcome, Roz and Darren go above and beyond to make sure you enjoy your stay with them, wonderful breakfast, beautiful rooms, toiletries provided, biscuits for your cuppa and a jug of water with fruit juice cordial in the room,nice big shower, comfy beds, very quiet at night so no trouble sleeping and parking just at back of property. lovely people every one of them, a sign on the door"here as guests depart as friends"so true, loved it !!!

Reviewer:Mrs. Lynda Crossley | Thu 5th Jun 2014


HIghly Recommended - Rating 5/5

We stayed at the Ivy Guest House for two nights over a weekend &from the moment we arrived, both Darren &Roz were extremely welcoming. Our room was very clean &sufficient for what we needed. The Breakfasts were lovely &the service was impeccable. We would highly recommend the Ivy Guest house to anyone looking for somewhere to stay in the Lakes &we hope to return again the near future.

Reviewer:Gemma Thurston | Wed 28th May 2014


Memory Lane - Rating 4/5

Ivy House has changed little in 40 years, which was nice. Friendly welcome and felt very much at home. Full of suggestions for trips around, good breakfast comfortable bed and linens.

Reviewer:Mrs. Muriel J Trudie Taylor-pak | Sun 18th May 2014


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Would recommend Ivy Guest House to anyone.Great hosts,great location,great breakfast.

Reviewer:Mr. Thomas Bartle | Thu 8th May 2014


wow,wow,wow,waaow. - Rating 5/5

Thelandlord and his wife were very accommodating. They were friendly and knew about the area and were abreast of the latest news, like the ferry being closed. The hotel was clean and tidy and the food was exceptional. All in all a very good experience, We would stay there again if we were in the area.

Reviewer:Barry Fisher | Sun 4th May 2014


Lovely guesthouse- Rating 5/5

We have just returned after 2 nights. Darren and Roz were very attentive.Nothing was too much trouble. Four poster bedroom was lovely.Breakfast was great. We would highly recommend this guest house. It's a lovely place to stay, we will definitely return.

Reviewer:Mr. Gary Pugh | Sun 27th Apr 2014


Return Visit - Rating 5/5

Our second visit to Ivy Guest House was every bit as good as our First visit with the warmest of welcomes and the heartiest of breakfasts ( excellent choice to cater for all dietary requirements ) Well appointed rooms &car parking facilities ( a huge bonus in Hawkshead ) Mine Hosts Darren &Ros are the most genial of people &always make time for a friendly chat. Our intention is to make a third visit in the coming year.

Reviewer:Paul Somerville | Mon 14th Apr 2014


Very Pleasant Stay - Rating 5/5

We stayed for two nights, Friday and Saturday. The Guest House is very clean and homely, and all the staff make you feel welcome and relaxed. Our room was very nicely decorated and a comfortable size with a four poster bed.The breakfast was lovely, with a good choice. They will even try to supply items not on the menu if requested which is not something offered everywhere.We would definitely stay again and look forward to returning.

Reviewer:Mr. Gordon Maudsley | Tue 1st Apr 2014


Simply fabulous- Rating 5/5

The Ivy Guest House is a brilliant home from home experience.Wonderful hosts......thank you xx

Reviewer:Mr. StevenWilliams | Mon 24th Mar 2014


hawkhead b.b - Rating 5/5

very friendly and pleasent place to stay . fantastic breakfast. very clean and so handy for the many attracions that the lakes has to offer . will definatly return.

Reviewer:Michael Swarbrick | Mon 17th Mar 2014


Lakeland beauty - Rating 5/5

Thank you Roz &Darren, wonderful hosts, relaxing and very attentive. Very friendly atmosphere and fantastic breakfast in the morning, some would say have a lie in, no no not missing that. We had a great stay, location perfect and so where the facilities. Definitely staing again this year, sooner than later. Many thanks again Steve &Karen

Reviewer:Steve Backhouse | Sun 16th Mar 2014


B'day w/e - Rating 5/5

A lovely b&b! Made to feel very welcome and comfortable by Darren and all his staff - will definitely be back :

Reviewer:Donna Heritage | Wed 19th Feb 2014


EXCELLENT - Rating 5/5

Best guest house we have ever stayed at.Will definitely stay there again.

Reviewer:Mr. Thomas Bartle | Mon 10th Feb 2014


Angela & Simon - Rating 5/5

We were greeted by a very warm and relaxed welcome by our hosts.Top weekend despite the weather.We shall return.

Reviewer:Miss. Angela Waddington | Sun 9th Feb 2014


Great Long Weekend - Rating 5/5

Darren &Roz made my friend &myself very welcome to Ivy House. They looked after our every need and were great in their recommendations both for shopping and places to go as well as places to eat. The food is freshly prepared &delicious the beds lovely and comfortable. Our room - No 1 had a slipper bath in the bedroom - wonderful to soak in at the end of the day. This was my second visit to Ivy Guest House and the service was great &Darren &Ros are so friendly - I will be back next year AGAIN!......

Reviewer:Mrs. Sue Weston | Thu 31st Oct 2013


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Beautiful hotel, lovely hosts, perfect location. What more can you ask for? Will definitely return.

Reviewer:Miss. Stacey Stanier | Mon 14th Oct 2013


Mr - Rating 5/5

Darren,Thank you for a wonderful stay we all much appreciated it and will be back soon.

Reviewer:Mr. Alan Gibson | Mon 7th Oct 2013


SOC Weekend - Rating 5/5

Great weekend at Ivy House - perfect for a group of friends to meet up - lovely communal lounge. Very well looked after all roundThank you

Reviewer:Mrs. Judith Turner | Tue 1st Oct 2013


A tick in every box. - Rating 5/5

A group of 9 of us stayed at the Ivy Guest House during September. We had group booked as a mountain biking club riding around the beautiful area that has bucket loads to offer. From the second we arrived we were greeted and checked in. The owners are the friendliest and most helpful you could wish for, nothing was too much trouble. Our room was spacious, warm and very comfortable. Everything had been thought of. The breakfast was great, lots on offer and very attentive service. Certainly set me up for biking up many hills during our stay! This will be my first choice of accommodation when staying in Hawkshead.

Reviewer:Mr. Mark Russell | Mon 30th Sep 2013


Excellent as always - Rating 5/5

Enjoyed our stay at Ivy Guest House again.Darren and Roz were lovely, caring, friendly hosts.We will return !

Reviewer:Mrs. Gillian Parkes | Tue 24th Sep 2013


Excellent Stay - Rating 5/5

A beautiful place with all the finishing touches to make our stay special. The breakfasts were great with a lovely variety to choose from. We would definitely return and highly recommend to others. Thank You both.

Reviewer:Mr. Richard Pearson | Mon 16th Sep 2013


Wonderful b&b - Rating 5/5

We arrived 3 hrs early but there was no problem. Siobhan made us toast, tea and fruit and we sat in the sunshine and relaxed after our long flight. Very clean, very comfortable and great breakfasts.

Reviewer:Mrs. Diane Russell-robinson | Mon 9th Sep 2013


Mine host - Rating 4/5

Would recommend Ivy House to anyone wanting a friendly, relaxed atmosphere - the hosts Darren and Roz together with Darren's mum could not be more accommodating or friendly. The rooms are comfortable, extremely clean and have the added luxury of providing extra toiletry requirements such as body lotion, shampoo, cleansing pads, room spray, hairdryer, tea, coffee biscuits and even chocolate ! Breakfast is a feast for the most healthy appetite or caters for those watching their waistline. The house is in central Hawkshead with all the local amenities and pubs on the doorstep.Lots of local walks so no need to move the car from the private park at the back of the accommodation.Have returned here and will be back again in the future.Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Mrs. Judith Oliver | Sun 8th Sep 2013


Ivy Guest House Hawkshead - Rating 5/5

Fabulous four days, the nicest hosts you could wish for, superb breakfasts (the best I have had at a B&B). Would definitely recommend this guest house to friends and family and hope to return again next year.

Reviewer:Ms. Fiona Collins | Sat 17th Aug 2013


Set's the standard - Rating 5/5

This is our second visit to the ivy and it won't be the last! If you want an example of how the B&B game should be done then I would strongly recomend checking out this place. From location to service there is nothing to fault here at all. It would definitely be my tip for number one stay in hawkshead.

Reviewer:Mr. Edward Casey | Mon 12th Aug 2013


Superb - Rating 5/5

Totally enjoyed our stay.Very comfortable guest house with very friendly and welcoming hosts.Couldnt fault anything.Will definitely go back.

Reviewer:Miss. KarenDutton | Mon 12th Aug 2013


beautiful - Rating 5/5

Had a lovely relaxing time. Wonderful house so beautiful. Fantastic setting in magical Hawkshead village. What a treat. gorgeous food. Very freindly owners thank you Kat and Colin

Reviewer:Mrs. Kathleen Croft | Wed 31st Jul 2013


An absolute Gem !! - Rating 5/5

We have just returned from a wonderful 4 night stay at The Ivy, where we were made to feel so very welcome, by Darren &Roz.The Ivy is a lovely place to stay, spotlessly clean, excellent breakfasts, fantastic hosts.We will be returning as soon as we can !!

Reviewer:Mrs. Carole Rowland | Sat 20th Jul 2013


Lakeland Gem - Rating 5/5

If you are planning a break in the Lakes and want an elegant, friendly and scrumptious stay, look no further than Ivy Guest House in Hawkshead.Six of us gather annually for a short break and happy chance brought us to Hawkshead and Ros and Darren. Our rooms, at the top of a magnificent Georgian staircase, were beautifully furnished and comfortable with lovely extra touches.The house is perfectly placed at the top of the high street, and althoughHawkshead is a busy attraction, it is wonderfully quiet at night.Thank you Ross andDarren for going the extra mile to make our stay so special.You deserve your success.

Reviewer:Mrs. Margaret Richardson | Thu 18th Jul 2013


Thank You - Rating 4/5

Thanks Darren and Roz for a lovely stay at the Ivy Guest House.Hawkshead is a lovely village and your accommodation likewise.Your hospitality was second to none and that made for a very relaxing stay,we look forward to a return in the near future.Keep up the good work, see you soon.Paul and Tracy.

Reviewer:Mr. Paul Heron | Tue 16th Jul 2013


Home from home - Rating 5/5

We have just returned from a 3 night stay with Darren and Ros a lovely friendly couple who made our stay extremely comfortable and welcoming.The house is very well presented, extremely clean and the breakfasts were fantastic, we did not buy lunch once whilst we were there, no need we were set up for the day.We felt we could come and go as we please and Darren and Ros were always at hand if needed as they are only next door.We will definately come back !!

Reviewer:Mrs. CaroleDoyle | Sat 29th Jun 2013


fantastic - Rating 5/5

Thoroughly enjoyed our first visit to Ivy Guest House. A great host, beautiful breakfast and prime location made sure it will not be our last. We can definately recommend a stay here.

Reviewer:Mr. Jonathan Grainger | Sat 22nd Jun 2013


mr - Rating 5/5

just returned from a great 2 days at the ivy guest house,warm friendly welcome and stylish and clean accomodation,located in the beautiful village of hawkshead.would definetely recommend a visit and stay to anyone,and we will return next year!and the breakfast was great!!!!

Reviewer:Mr. Gary Robertson | Thu 20th Jun 2013


Great Weekend - Rating 5/5

Just back from two night stay at Ivy Guest House - our first visit which was selected by internet search. We were made really welcome and the accommodation could not be faulted. Loads of helpful advice from very friendly owners Darren and Roz and great breakfasts each day. Would definitely recommend !!!

Reviewer:Mr. Steven Pattison | Wed 5th Jun 2013


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

Very kind and hospitable stay - Darren, Ros and Darren's mum made our stay very comfortable. Lovely breakfast and Ros even got some natural yoghurt for us. We met little dexter and hope his trip to the vet yesterday went well. Hope to return with Polly and Henry later in the year. Also met Andrea and Eleanor which was nice - so see you again

Reviewer:Ms. Jayne Sillitoe | Wed 29th May 2013


Stay Here - Rating 5/5

Having arrived mid afternoon we were cordially greeted by Darren &Roz &their 10 week cocker spaniel puppy. We were made to feel very welcome from the off &shown to our well appointed room equipped with t.v./dvd ( which we didn't use as the weather was so good we made the most of it.) Breakfast was served by Darren's mum with a cheery smile &what a good breakfast it was. Hawkshead is a great location &the accommodation is worthy of such a setting we wish them all the very best for the future &we fully intend to go back again. Paul &Helen Somerville

Reviewer:Mr. Paul Somerville | Thu 23rd May 2013


WONDERFUL! - Rating 5/5

Darren and Roz really know how to make you feel at home!From arrival to departure they were delightful, the beds were comfortable, food excellent and the atmosphere relaxing!Also a perfect stop for your Beatrix Potter exploration.

Reviewer:Mrs. Renee Andrews | Sat 18th May 2013


Perfect Break - Rating 5/5

We have just returned from a fabulous 4 night break at the Ivy Guest House. It really is a lovely place, and Darren and Roz are the perfect hosts, ably assisted by Darren's Mum. The breakfast was so good with plenty of choice we didn't need to eat again until the evening. There are several good places to eat in the village, which is lovely and unspoilt. The room and whole guest house was spotlessly clean, and Darren really makes you feel welcome and at home. He is very knowledgeable, and will assist with any ideas for days out. He even insisted on driving us to the Windermere ferry, as we wanted a car free day. All in all, we thoroughly recommend The Ivy, and hope to stay again in the near future, even though it's 300 miles from home.

Reviewer:Mr. John Morant | Sat 27th Apr 2013


April 2013 - Rating 5/5

Three nights stay in beautiful Hawkshead was made more enjoyable by our stay at Ive Guest House. Would recommend to friends and family and would definitely go back again. Very comfortable acccomodation run by friendly, helpful family. Great breakfast and ideally located for anywhere in the Lake District.

Reviewer:Mr. Robert Law | Wed 24th Apr 2013


Excellent place to stay - Rating 5/5

Really enjoyed our stay at The Ivy Guest. Our hosts Darren and Roz were ever helpful be it where to visit or best place to eat out in the village. Our room was spotlessly clean and comfortable and the breakfast set you up for a days walking. We would certainly return. Pete and Jan Baines

Reviewer:Mr. Peter Baines | Tue 23rd Apr 2013


Ivy House- Rating 5/5

Staying at the Ivy House was like a home from home, very friendly and rooms so beautifully decorated and comfortable. We were made very welcome for our 2 nights B&B and as we were celebrating our mum's 70th, Darren pulled out all the stops by providing us with a champagne ice bucket and glasses so we could toast our mum with the finest Italian Torbato Terre Bianche Spumante Brut. Will try and get back to the Lake District within couple of years and we will definitely be looking up the Ivy House.Katherine Bird.

Reviewer:Mrs. Margaret Bird | Sat 20th Apr 2013


Home from home - but better - Rating 5/5

From the warm hearted welcome to the end of our stay we were offered every comfort in this lovely home in a most beautiful setting. Darren is a superb host, totally caring and Chris , his mother was just like a"real mum "- a great team.

Reviewer:Mr. Ken Hazlewood | Wed 17th Apr 2013


April in the Lakes - Rating 5/5

We spent for wonderful nights in this very welcoming guest house. It was spotlessly clean, the breakfasts were very good and the hosts could not have been nicer.

Reviewer:Mrs. Barbara Burnell | Mon 15th Apr 2013


Ivy Guest House - Rating 5/5

We really enjoyed our stay with you and are looking forward to returning in October hopefully.Your accomodation is of an extremely high standard and quite individual, but very friendly and welcoming.

Reviewer:Mr. John Jones | Tue 9th Apr 2013


Home From Home. - Rating 5/5

We really enjoyed our stay at the Ivy Guest House and the hositality of Darren and Roz made us feel very welcomed. The king size bed provided an excellent nights sleep each night and the very scrumptious breakfasts filled us up until dinner time. The log fire in the lounge provides a nice warm and relaxing environment after fell walking. The off-street parking is an added bonus and one less thing to worry about. We love Hawkshead and our stay at the Ivy Guest House just reinforces why we do.

Reviewer:Mr. Nigel Taylor | Mon 25th Mar 2013


A wonderful place to stay! - Rating 5/5

Thank you Roz and Darren for a really lovely couple of days, we really enjoyed our stay and would thoroughly recommend to anyone. You made us feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble.Hope to stay again in the future!

Response

Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are so pleased your stay with us was well enjoyed.Hope to see you and the boys and Phil again really soon.Best Wishes to you.Roz & Darren

Reviewer:Mrs. Emma Dearman | Mon 25th Feb 2013


2 sisters 40 + - Rating 5/5

Our most lasting memories of Ivy Guest House are not that of outstanding location or brilliant value for money which it most certainly is but that of the warmest and most welcoming welcome ever. The perfect and very difficult balance of a relaxed home from home, with every detail so thoughtfully provided, and nothing seems too much trouble, without intrusion into the very reason you go away, to have peace and quiet and recharge in the magnificent surrounding of the Lakes- right on your doorstep.This was my 2nd visit, the first was with my husband, and I know i will return again. Thankyou Darren and Roz . I wish you every success. Keep up the good work.

Response

Great to see you again Mel. We are so glad your second visit was good as your first. Look forward to seeing you again.Thank you so much or your kind comments.Best wishes to you, your Sister and Family.Roz & Darren

Reviewer:Mrs. Melanie Ryan | Sun 24th Feb 2013


Lovely break - Rating 5/5

Great location. Very warm and welcoming hosts. Good breakfast and personal touch given throughout our stay.

Reviewer:Mr. John Barratt | Wed 16th Jan 2013


Ivy Guest House - Rating 5/5

We had an excellent and very comfortable stay.Darren and Roz treated us like family. The house is clean, warm and friendly.the room was well appointed and the bed was extremely comfortable.Breakfast was fantastic.We had such a pleasant stay that we have booked to stay again in the New Year.I cannot recommend Ivy Guest House highly enough.

Reviewer:Dr. Graham Hunter | Mon 19th Nov 2012


Home from home - Rating 5/5

Lovely place to stay in Hawkshead, really warm and friendly, lovely rooms all spotless and a great breakfast to start each day. Would recommend to anyone.

Reviewer:Mr. Peter Monaghan | Fri 16th Nov 2012


Relaxing Break - Rating 4/5

We took advantage of a special 3 day break and had a wonderful time. The Ivy is in a great location at the heart of Hawkshead, with all amenities within easy reach. The accommodation was of a very high standard with a very relaxed and homely feel. Darren and Ros made us feel really welcome and were very friendly, We would definitely like to pay another visit.

Reviewer:Mr. Christopher Medrano | Sun 21st Oct 2012


Find - Rating 5/5

Absolute find. We spent a really enjoyable and comfortable weekend at Ivy Guest House. Roz and Darren are first class. We will definitely return

Reviewer:Mr. Kevin Wolstencroft | Sat 20th Oct 2012


short break - Rating 5/5

From the time we arrived and the welcome we received from Darren the owner, until we left was superb. Our room was excellent and the added touches made us feel at home and made us feel like friends rather than paying guests. Nothing was to much bother and Darren takes an interest in you and will help guide you on things to do within the area. Enjoyed it so much we've already booked to go back in 7weeks time.

Reviewer:Mr. Cameron Knox | Fri 12th Oct 2012


A brief but enjoyable stay - Rating 5/5

Wow, what a wonderfully comfortable bed, matched by the very welcoming and engaging staff... A home away from home. Ivy Guest House is quiet, well appointed, meticulously clean, and just next door to all the town's attractions. Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Mrs. Elizabeth Hosking | Wed 3rd Oct 2012


Great stay - Rating 4/5

We stayed a couple of nights with our one year old daughter.Our stay was great and our daughter was the centre of attention each morning at breakfast (which of course she loved!).The room was great and very clean, breakfast good and we were shown great hospitality.We would definitely recommend Ivy Guest House as a place to stay.

Reviewer:Mrs. Lindsay Coleman | Wed 26th Sep 2012


Ivy Guest House - Rating 5/5

We were given a very warm and friendly welcome by Darren on our arrival. The Guest House had lost none of its charm or character since our last visit 22 years ago. The decor and furnishings are tasteful including a lovely and comfortable bed. Breakfast was served by smiling Darren and cooked to order to perfection. We shall certainly be paying another visit soon.

Response

And we so look forward to seeing you again sooner than 22 years this time.Best Wishes and Thank You again for your kind comments.Darren & Roz

Reviewer:Mr. Glenwright Glenwright | Sun 2nd Sep 2012


Superb - Rating 5/5

Stayed for one night and had a relaxing stay.Owners made us feel very welcome and the breakfast was superb. Hawkshead is a lovely setting.

Response

Thank you David. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.We hope we will meet again very soon.RegardsDarren & Roz

Reviewer:Mr. David Cumins | Mon 20th Aug 2012


Couldn't wish for more - Rating 5/5

Darren and his Mum went out of their way to make us comfortable during our 3 night stay.Nothing was too much trouble for them and they were extraordinarily friendly and sociable.The facilities were excellent and the food good.We could not have wished for more and wholeheartedly recommend this guest house.

Response

Thank you so much for your comments. It is really pleasing to know our customers have had a pleasant experience. We hope to see you again soon.Kind regardsDarren & Roz

Reviewer:Mrs. Jane Jones | Sat 4th Aug 2012